PDA

View Full Version : Re-Mastering Knoppix v 3.9 Help

kooladi
08-16-2005, 04:48 PM
Hi,
I am a newbie at this..so trying my hand at remastering Knoppix 3.9.
My first question is I just read that odd numbered versions are for developers and are not stable. So, should I go for v 3.8 or is v 3.9 a good choice.

My second question is that I read articles relating to Re-mastering knoppix on this site, but they are for previous versions of knoppix. I couldnt get my system to boot from an emulated version of the CD on my hard disk. So, I tried the command, knoppix -installer and I configured my installation as the third option (Knoppix System like from CD). Is this the same as trying to emaulate a knoppix CD to hard drive.

I got my knoppix installed with the help knoppix - installer. I was just wondering, can I customize this knoppix, I mean remove softwares and add regional lang support ..and then burn it out as a live CD. Is this possible.

UnderScore
08-16-2005, 05:03 PM
odd numbered versions are for developers and are not stable.This is not true for Knoppix. Odd number releases are not just for developers or testing. There is no special relationship between odd or even number releases. Knoppix 3.8.2 is more stable than 3.9. If you intend to remaster, then you should choose 3.8.2.

Is this the same as trying to emaulate a knoppix CD to hard drive. Similar but not the same. The knoppix-installer makes some changes to the system so it behaves _like_ a CD but is not the same as a CD.