PDA

View Full Version : new here - lots of questions

ravenspirit2k4
08-18-2005, 11:30 PM
Ok, I've been using Knoppix for almost 2 years and I'm a fan of it. I'd love to install it to my HD, especially since the new DVD has come out, but I understand that this causes problems (someone said it was because of short cuts taken to make it run from the cd). So I have the following questions:

1. An individual I met on IRC said that there was a downloadable file that puts the "missing" files back into a Knoppix hd install, but he'd forgotten where to download it from. A google search just turned up tutorials for installing it, plus all the warnings about possible problems. Does anyone here know of such a file somewhere? I'm guessing he was wrong, but I'd like to know for sure.

2. Is there a tutorial soemwhere about installing Debian and making it into Knoppix's image, so to speak, on your software choices? (I've heard Debian's installer has improved - the last two times I tried it was a disaster, but that was over a year ago.)

3. If no to both of the above, does anyone recommend any particular distro that's best for soemone who really likes Knoppix?

Thanks in advance.

-raven

UnderScore
08-19-2005, 12:17 AM
I have to type this quick. Someone else should be able to give you their opinion too.

1) I tend to not trust a person I met on IRC unless I know their history (smart? not smart? serious? prankster?). There is no downloadable file that puts the "missing" files back into a Knoppix hd install. There _are_ methods of fixing a HD install but there are not auto-script or downloadble file. If you intend to do a HD install, please excuse some scary language or some negative tone, but please read this http://www.knoppix.net/forum/viewtopic.php?p=87187#87187. If still want to do a HD install, please note that Knoppix 4.01 DVD 8-16-2005 has not been installed by the forum's "experts" and I do not know if it does or does not break anything.

2) Not that I know of.