PDA

View Full Version : Looking for CDROM in: /dev/hda

mytruehero
08-19-2005, 08:28 AM
Hello. I'm new at using knoppix. I'm trying to fix a friend's computer. When I turn on the computer, it simply says "No operating system detected." I figured I would try booting into knoppix so we could back up his files before I tried anything else, but I can't even seem to boot into knoppix. At the loading screen, it gets stuck on the second line: "Looking for CDROM in: /dev/hda"

Also interesting: at the top of same screen, it says "hda: INVALID GEOMETRY: 0 PHYSICAL HEADS?"

It almost seems as though whatever is up with the hard drive is affecting knoppix somehow? But I thought knoppix ran exclusive of the hard drive entirely?

Any suggestions?

Thanks in advance. :)

Kowood
08-19-2005, 08:31 PM
turn off hardware detection (look in the cheatcodes section of the docs) and mount the disk manually with mount /dev/hda1 (or whatever partition it is. first disk, first part=/dev/hda1) /mnt/hda1
mount /dev/hda1 /mnt/hda1 will mount /dev/hda1 on mount point /mnt/hda1

TommyHill
08-19-2005, 11:34 PM
I had similar problem with flash memory card... KNOPPIX could not detect the memory drive. Do you think I can install KNOPPIX on two 800 meg drives ?

800 megs PRIMARY
---------------------------
400 megs LINUX SWAP
400 megs HOME

I will try and mount the drives manually and see if it works...

UnderScore
08-19-2005, 11:36 PM
I had similar problem with flash memory card... KNOPPIX could not detect the memory drive. Do you think I can install KNOPPIX on two 800 meg drives ?

800 megs PRIMARY
400 megs LINUX SWAP
400 megs HOME

I will try and mount the drives manually and see it it works...I highly doubt it. The compressed loopback filesystem on the Knoppix CD is approx 695MB and it decompresses to about 1.8GB.

Harry Kuhman
08-19-2005, 11:53 PM