PDA

View Full Version : Knoppix 4.0 DVD HDD Install issue

pt-1
09-09-2005, 12:10 PM
Hi Guys,

I am a Linux Beginner and had various installations of knoppix and kanotix on my machine before.
After a while my latest Installation did not work any more so I decided to install Knoppix 4.0 on a new 20GB Hdd.

I made a 18GB Linux and a 2GB Linux swap and Knoppix installs everything without a Problem.

On a reboot from HDD I get this:

Uncompressing Linux... Ok, booting Kernel

and then

Kernel Panic - not syncing: VFS : Unable to mount roof fs on unknown-block(3,1)

The PC is a Fujitsu 700mHz with 256 MB Ram

mttoptv
09-09-2005, 05:07 PM
I have excatly the same problem and cannot figure it out. I have tried all different ways and one time it did boot but could not find my ethernet connection. I am mostly using Mephis and debian and have no problems. The Knoppix live DVD works great but I cannot install it to the hard drive without the kernel painc happening. I have tried it on 2 different systems. I use sudo knoppix-installer.

harken
09-10-2005, 05:38 PM
Boot from the CD, mount the partition that holds the Knoppix install and post the contents of the file /boot/grub/menu.lst (from the mounted partition, not otherwise). Most likely the entry in the configuration file points to the wrong partition.

HotRod
09-11-2005, 04:31 PM
I had the same problem.

Try this.....It worked for me ....... I noticed that the boot sequence tried to detect my dvdrw as a hardrive and could not synchronize with it. I just changed the bios for my dvdrw to auto and removed the secondary slave hard drive.

pt-1
09-12-2005, 08:52 AM
# menu.lst - See: grub(8), info grub, update-grub(8)
# grub-install(8), grub-floppy(8),
# grub-md5-crypt, /usr/share/doc/grub
# and /usr/share/doc/grub-doc/.

## default num
# Set the default entry to the entry number NUM. Numbering starts from 0, and
# the entry number 0 is the default if the command is not used.
#