PDA

View Full Version : strange boot error - i'm a linux noob

GoDofUSA
09-16-2005, 09:08 PM
Ok.. last night I was just playing a game as usual and my system froze. I powered off/on and got the following message (by the way I was in windows xp)
"Windows could not start because the following file is missing or corrupt:
\Windows\system32\config\system
You can attempt to repair this file by starting Windows setup using the original setup CD-Rom. Select 'r' at the first screen to start repair."

My friend lent me a winxp bootable cd and I put it in, but it would not detect my harddrive so i could not repair or install a fresh copy.

The drive is a SATA 250gb Western Digital. The reason I am in this forum is because someone told me about knoppix and that I could fix my problem using this. So I got a copy of 3.7 and am looking at it now on the desktop. It has my 2 cdroms and floppy, but not my hard drive. How do I get Knoppix to detect my harddrive and how the heck do I fix this problem? I can't lose the data on that disk (I am fearing that the drive is corrupt) it is so important to me to get this fixed. I appreciate any help you may offer.

killozap
09-16-2005, 09:44 PM
I don't think that a knoppix-CD is the right thing to backup or repair your data.
Try to get a CD booting to Windows PE, there was a CD in one of the CT-magazines (germany).
I have had such a problem some month ago and was able to copy all my data to an usb-drive. But i must be true and say that i had got a recovery-cd with repair-programs like ontrack and so on, and this rescued almost anything. My prob was the installation of ubuntu which caused the windows-disk to be unusable. But i did never get the system to be repairable by windows, i had to format and install windows again, but lost no data.

rwcitek
09-16-2005, 10:32 PM