PDA

View Full Version : pc won't boot using v3.9

dpolizzi
09-18-2005, 05:18 PM
I am working on a homework project for scholl that requires me to use knoppix..I am booting from the cd rom using version 3.9 live cd..It seems to load properly but then I cant figure out how to get past the black boot screen..Last line says root@tty1[/]# What command do I need to type in to get to the desktop so I can use the internet browser and other things...Sorry if this is a dumb question but again I am new to this.....Thanx in advance to the smart people willing to help me!!!!

OErjan
09-18-2005, 05:29 PM
wjat computer do you have, how did you boot it? any message during boot?

dpolizzi
09-18-2005, 05:31 PM
Booted with live cd from standard pc. It seems to load everything, but i'm stuck on the black screen with the root@tty1[/]#
Just need to know what command to type to get into the actual operating system.

OErjan
09-18-2005, 05:36 PM
startx should work.
but i suspect there to be some troubles, as you should get desktop to begin with.

dpolizzi
09-18-2005, 05:46 PM
Ok just tried it again, and this is what happens. It says that it's starting x11... and then it gives me these errors
X: warning; process set to priority -11 instead of requested priority -10
Fatal error; server is already active for display o
modprobe: FATAL error; running instal command for sound_slot_1

OErjan
09-18-2005, 05:48 PM
if you post the poutputs from the comands below it will be easyer to help.

dmesg|grep vgaand
dmesg|grep vesa
might help. aswell as
tail -50 /var/log/Xorg.log
EDIT you posted while i wrote the reply. hmm, try
ctrl+alt+F5
that should work.
if not perhaps
startx -- :1

dpolizzi
09-18-2005, 06:11 PM
did you still want to know what happens after i put the commands you told me to type in?
ctrl + alt +f5 turns the screen off and I have to press f1 to put it back on and then i typed in the other part and it gave me the same error: process set to priority -11 instead of requested priority of -10.