PDA

View Full Version : Error: Cannot Unite Read-Only Media and Initial Ramdisk!

jackstl
09-19-2005, 02:46 AM
I am trying to boot knoppix 3.9. After boot begins. the message "error: cannot unite read-only media and initial ramdisk!" appears.

jackstl
09-19-2005, 03:40 AM
I think that I have a bad burn of knoppix 3.9. There are a bunch of "cloop" errors preceding the actual error that I mentioned in my initial post. Also, when I run "knoppixtestcd" it says that it can't find kernal. Thanks anyway. If anyone has a differing opinion, please let me know. As I'm sure you figured out, I'm new to this, so any information would be welcomed.

rwcitek
09-19-2005, 06:49 AM
I think that I have a bad burn of knoppix 3.9.
I think you are right on the money. The symptoms you describe sound like a classic case of bad burn. Just be sure to check the md5sum of the downloaded ISO and to burn slowly, <8x.

Let us know how things go with the new burn.

Regards,
- Robert
http://www.cwelug.org

jackstl
09-19-2005, 06:55 AM
Thanks for responding. I burned the disk at 8X. I'm going to try to burn slower at see if that works. If not, I'm going to buy a "pre-burned" cd. By the way, and off subject, I also live in the St Louis area too, and hope to attend the next LUG meeting on the 24th. Thanks again, I'll let you know if it worked.

rwcitek
09-19-2005, 07:05 AM
Thanks for responding. I burned the disk at 8X. I'm going to try to burn slower at see if that works. If not, I'm going to buy a "pre-burned" cd. By the way, and off subject, I also live in the St Louis area too, and hope to attend the next LUG meeting on the 24th. Thanks again, I'll let you know if it worked.
Excellent! If you want a CD sooner, we could meet up at a Bread Co and I can give you a CD. Just drop me a private message or e-mail me (e-mail's on the website).

Regards,
- Robert
http://www.cwelug.org

jackstl
09-19-2005, 08:37 AM