PDA

View Full Version : Hard drive read access error

freddagg
09-26-2005, 10:54 PM
Hi, Im pretty new to this but am stubborn not to let it beat me.
When installing version 3.4 from cd onto the only HD in the pc it asks to partition the drive (4gb drive). Since thereis only one drive in the pc, it is already selected so ok so far.
It then say the hd is read only and the only options are to quit or go back.
Ive had a quick look in the bios for any read only toggles or similar but no luck. The hard drive currently has a win98 os on it that Im planning to overwrite.

Any ideas?
Cheers F

Harry Kuhman
09-26-2005, 11:10 PM
Any ideas?
Do you have available unpartitoned space on this hard drive? If so this is great but quite unusual. Normally one has to use some program like Partition Magic to shrink existing partitions and make space. If or after you have space, I would use some program like Ranish Partition Manager to make the new partitions. (I'm just not as comfortable with the Linux partition software, have only used it in Linux installs, but it should work too. I just know I can make what I want with Ranish.)

None of this should be taken to imply that I think you actually should install Knoppix to a hard disk. I generally consider that a Bad Idea™. At least try install Debian before insisting on installing Knoppix; the Debian install has become much cleaner in recent years.

freddagg
09-27-2005, 06:08 PM
Thanks for the reply. I may try that partition trick or else add a new (old) drive.
The reason I was after Knoppix OS was to run on a 500mhz p3 as a simple file server and streaming music server. Will the debian fit this application?
Cheers F

Harry Kuhman
09-27-2005, 06:40 PM
Will the debian fit this application?