PDA

View Full Version : remaster_0.1-6 script fails with long device-path-names



malaire
09-28-2005, 10:31 AM
NOTE: I changed the subject from "remaster_0.1-6 scripts not working with Knoppix 4.0.2 CD"
to "remaster_0.1-6 script fails with long device-path-names" to better reflect the problem.

I tried to remaster Knoppix 4.0.2 CD using remaster_0.1-6 scripts from http://debian.tu-bs.de/knoppix/remaster/ but it fails at the beginning.

(you can skip to the "Real problem?" if you don't want to know exact steps)

Here are the exact steps:

===== BOOT =====
Boot Knoppix from 4.0.2 CD using

knoppix gmt lang=fi

===== INSTALL LVM2 SUPPORT =====
I'm using LVM2, so I'll first install it from the packages I have on hd.


su
cd /mnt/hdb1/mydata/LVM2
modprobe dm-mod
dpkg -i lvm-common_1.5.17_i386.deb
dpkg -i lvm2_2.01.04-5_i386.deb
lndir /lib/lvm-200/ /usr/sbin/
vgscan
vgchange -a y


===== MOUNT =====
Then I create and mount the main directory where I'm going to work.


mkdir /data
mount /dev/LVM/data /data
cd /data/knx


===== START REAL REMASTERING =====
(http://www.knoppix.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=12530)
(http://www.knoppix.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=13867)

get remaster_0.1-6.tar.gz, and unpack


tar xvzf remaster_0.1-6.tar.gz
mv remaster-0.1 scripts


Create new remaster


cd scripts
vim KNOPPIX.build/remaster_config
mkdir /data/knx/remaster
./knoppix-remaster /data/knx/remaster

Do you want to create a new remaster? - YES
The script needs a place where it can store... - OK
Select new remaster directory - (accept default /data/knx/remaster and press OK)

At this stage I get this error on console (translated from finnish)



mount: /data/knx/scripts not found from /etc/fstab, or /etc/mtab

And at the same time I get the following message in Error-dialog


Error: Remounting rw,suid,dev of failed.
Do you want to try again?
[Yes] [No]


Real problem?

The knoppix-remaster script has these lines:



110 remaster_check_mount_options()
111 {
112 REMASTER_MOUNT_DEV=$(df "$REMASTER_CHOICE" | tail -1 | cut -d" " -f1)
113 # we have to remount right ...
114 mount -o remount,rw,suid,dev "$REMASTER_MOUNT_DEV"
--> || remaster_error_yesno $"Remounting rw,suid,dev of $REMASTER_MOUNT_DEV failed."
115 }


And because there was nothing between words "of failed", $REMASTER_MOUNT_DEV is clearly empty here.

I'm not sure how that script should be rewritten to make it work, and why it is failing now but not before.

malaire
09-28-2005, 12:48 PM
I found out why this is failing, but don't yet know how to fix it.

knoppix-remaster, line 112:


REMASTER_MOUNT_DEV=$(df "$REMASTER_CHOICE" | tail -1 | cut -d" " -f1)

That doesn't work if filesystem-path is so long that output from df is split to 2 lines:



knoppix@0[scripts]$ df /data
Tiedostojärjestelmä 1K-lohkot Käytetty Vapaana Käy% Liitospiste
/UNIONFS/dev/mapper/LVM-data
12582524 9457100 3125424 76% /data


Same problem exists on line 67, and perhaps also in other places where df is used.

malaire
09-28-2005, 06:27 PM
I managed to create a patch which "Works For Me", but I won't make any guarantees about this.

Patch: http://laire.info/markus/misc/knoppix-remaster-0.1-6.patch

It would be better if someone who knows shell-programming better creates better patch, but I'll post this here just in case someone has use for it.

tr
09-29-2005, 08:50 AM
I tried to remaster Knoppix 4.0.2 CD using remaster_0.1-6 scripts from http://debian.tu-bs.de/knoppix/remaster/ but it fails at the beginning.


No, no. According to my experience it works! I just did yesterday evening a remastering and it works fine. But I use always a Debian way in my remasterings by installing remaster*.deb package first and then begin to remaster. My instructions (in finnish) for remastering are in file http://tapsa.terae.net/linux/knoppix/remaster.pdf.

If you wait a couple of days, I place a new remastered finnish version with KDE 3.4.2 to
ftp://ftp.funet.fi/pub/Linux/images/SuomiKnoppix/. Finnish "SuomiKnoppix" has remaster scripts included and you can start remastering by typing knoppix-remaster.



-tapsa-