PDA

View Full Version : After Booting and loading my screen goes Nuts

omghellyeah2003
10-01-2005, 02:50 AM
I am new to linux and am running the Knoppix 3.8 Live Cd well it starts off by giving me a (You passed undefined mode number....press enter to see video modes available, space to continue) after it boots I don't do anything so it continues to boot. seems to be doing well until it gets to the starting X11 and flashes on a few times and then goes to a strange screen that looks like a tv with no reception all scrabbly........u can tell the screen changes a few times but it is still really scrabbled and that is where it sits. The video card is 82810 CGC (Chipset Graphics Controller) It has windows ME. Could someone please tell me what I have done wrong and how to possibly fix this problem.......I know it is probably a simple fix and Ill feel really dumb but I am just stumped. I looked and looked to find the answer but didnt. Any help would be appreciated.

*Cheryle* :cry:

UnderScore
10-01-2005, 03:00 AM
Welcome to Knoppix.net
First, did you follow the download & verification & burning instructions at http://www.knoppix.net/wiki/Downloading_FAQ ?
When there are problems with Knoppix, we begin with the physical CD itself. The FAQ has some real must reads tips & suggestions that will help you make sure you have downloaded and burned a good working Knoppix CD.

On the video problems:
The "You passed undefined mode number" error. You can ignore it. It is annoying but not dangerous or bad for the PC.

As for the rest of video, it sounds like knoppix is doing the best it can at autodetecting the video hardware (perhaps getting it wrong) & then setting a resolution & refresh rate that is beyond the capabilities of the hardware. Try booting knoppix with some Cheat Codes (http://www.knoppix.net/wiki/Cheat_Codes), such as:
knoppix screen=800x600 xvrefresh=60
knoppix screen=640x480 xvrefresh=60

I hope this helps.
James

Harry Kuhman
10-01-2005, 03:09 AM