PDA

View Full Version : IDE-RAID controller

Dohmann
12-28-2002, 10:08 PM
Does anybody know, if the standard kernel used by knoppix does support an IDE-RAID controller? I use the HPT370 and would like to access my raid.

01-03-2003, 05:37 AM
I using HPT374, same problem as yours!

Spider.007
02-01-2003, 10:37 PM
I have a hightpoint controller onboard; and inserting de knoppix cd results in a pinguin and a cursor; that's all I get :(

Bright_Sky
02-04-2003, 09:27 AM
First of all : I'm a total newbie to Linux-Knoppix.

I have a similar error to yours.

My board has a HPT370A Raid controller. I have connected a hard drive as primary master at the primary raid channel. After booting from the CD, Knoppix freezes at this point:
"Uncompressing Linux... done. Boorting the kernel" (if I remember correctly). After that - nothing.

If I use the "failsafe" mode, the kernel began to boot, but freezes after displaying the drives mounted (hda, hdb, and their IRQ-s, sorry I don't know the exact boot sequence of Linux)

"Nodma", "Noscsi" - they are not working too. :((

If I don't have any hard drive connected, the OS works correctly, and I like it very much!
I use the 2003-01-20 release of Knoppix.

And, I have a very similar thing when I use the "Live-Evaluation" version of the 8.0 SuSE.

I have only one workaround presently: if I use the standard IDE controllers on the board, then there are no more problems - but I want to use my precioussssssss (thx Gollam) RAID controller!

Thanks everyone...!

Spider.007
03-02-2003, 03:50 PM
Does anyone know if the opensource driver (http://www.highpoint-tech.com/372drivers_down.htm)highpoint has created will be implemented soon in Knoppix? I've heard some rumors (http://www.linuxquestions.org/questions/history/19831) that it will be included in the kernel 2.4.18... Can anyone confirm this :?:

ironstorm
03-05-2003, 08:05 AM
VP6 is HPT370 ( I was using the YT bios with no mods )
http://www.northern.ca/forums/index.php?t=msg&th=17

rec9140