PDA

View Full Version : What wireless card will just work?

gamezealot
10-09-2005, 06:24 AM
What wireless card will work with knoppix? Plug and play...

I'll buy whatever card it is, I'm using knoppix 4.0.2...

Harry Kuhman
10-09-2005, 06:37 AM
We have a wireless networking section in the wiki. I've mentioned there one Belkin card that works for me. However, be careful; many times manufacturers change chipsets but keep the same card model number (Dlink for example has made many different DWL-650 cards, some are reported to work under Knoppix but mine that use different chip sets do not), so it's pretty hard to be 100% certain that a card will be well supported. My card is marked ver. 2101 with a paper sticker on the box if that helps, I would expect cards with the same ver number to use the same chips, but if the version number is different I wouldn't trust the card to work.

Robert A.
10-10-2005, 12:19 AM
Last year, I first tried Knoppix 3.6 or 3.7 as an absolute newbie. I was sitting in a WiFi coffee house that I frequent, and downloaded Knoppix via WiFi. Then I burned the iso, booted the CD, and it worked the first time (Windows XP Home).

My Netgear MA401 WiFi card was still in the slot, so I tried to connect to the Internet. No problem. Worked the first time (to my surprise) with no user intervention.

A few days later, I was in a different WiFi coffee house. I booted directly to Knoppix CD, without first using Windows. No matter what I did, I could not get the wireless to connect. The card was recognized, but the transmitter was not. So I re-booted to Windows, connected to the WiFi, and worked awhile. Later, while still there, I re-booted to Knoppix - and this time, it immediately recognized the WiFi transmitter! I was able to connect to the Internet in Knoppix.