PDA

View Full Version : printing

crackdaddysnap
12-29-2002, 12:30 AM
i have a d145 i used the print set up in knoppix but at the end i went to test and the message said page sent to printer successfuly but it never printed ??????? how do i set up a hpd145 printer i have it connected to a usb port? thanks for your help i am new to knoppix.

thewalkingman
12-29-2002, 04:25 PM
add my name to list of people who are having problems with printers under knoppix

roberto
12-31-2002, 06:07 AM
me too. especially the fact that even IF you do get your printer working in linux odds are you will have to set it up under MULTIPLE different programs to get anthing worthwhile, (the proud owner of a NEW canon i850 that Linux HATES!)

hendry
01-05-2003, 05:50 PM
Using the 2002-12-12 release:
I went through the KDE wizard to setup my HP PSC 750, and that went smoothly. Printing the test page however, didn't.

After rooting around the /proc/bus/usb, I noticed the permissions might be wrong. I tried to change it using chmod, however I have permission denied due to a read only fs.

If I could only get this HP PSC 750 working properly on my parent's machine! I didn't even dare try scanning !

Hmmm "Persistent Home CD" seems to solve some USB issues, although nothing is mentioned about printers...

oldhippy
01-09-2003, 03:32 PM
Can I get my HP Laserjet 4 Plus to work on KNOPPIX or am I too old?

RockMumbles
01-09-2003, 08:27 PM
Should not be a problem (even for an old hippy ;)) the hplj4+ is old so it's well supported.

In the past I've had my hplj4+ running with several linux distros, but it is now my wifes printer so hands off to me.

What problems are you having?

Are you running from CD or a hdd install?

rock

01-10-2003, 12:11 AM
I am running from the CD.

Just get "EMPTY PRINT COMMAND"

I've got a new computer still in the wrapper waiting to become a LINUX box, but.............

oldhippy
01-17-2003, 04:18 PM
The oldhippy got the printer working!!!!