PDA

View Full Version : How to make my LAN work?

bokaroseani
10-20-2005, 09:25 AM
When I tried to use netcardconfig to configure my network card it asks me whether I wasnt to use DHCP broadcast. What does that mean? I just burnt the Knoppix 4.0.2 CD and booted my computer but it doesnt automatically get me connected to the web. What else do I need to do to get started with internet browsing? Can anyone help?

bokaroseani
10-20-2005, 09:36 AM
I have another question... how are we supposed to have a root's password setup. I tried to use Ethereal but it asks me the root's password. I am a complete novice in Linux as you can see.

A question somewhat unrelated to this section... my CD-drive is making a lot of sound (as if the CD is touching some surface while it is rotating. I did not hear so much noise when I watch a DVD movie for example. Is it because I never noticed it while watching movies or is it something to do with the Knoppix running from the CD. I am using an IBM Thinkpad T20. Thanks.

Harry Kuhman
10-20-2005, 10:02 AM
When I tried to use netcardconfig .....Can anyone help?
We have no details about your network, equipment, or even type of Internet service that you have. Without that I can only give you my stock answer (which is still good advice). With any high speed connection, never run without a router. The router will take care of all required setup for you and you will be on the Internet as soon as you boot, not setup needed at all (and you will be much safer behind a hardware firewall, particularly when running Windows).

Your second posting really doesn't belong in the networking section or in this thread. Don't be afraid of startibng a fresh thread for a new and unrelated question, and try to put it in the most appropriate forum. You may also find that a little reading before posting will often get you answers a lot faster than posting and waiting.

bokaroseani
10-20-2005, 07:03 PM