PDA

View Full Version : USB cable modem

Phar_Ted
10-22-2005, 07:06 PM
Hi, A frustrated noob here.
After days of figuring out how to download an ISO file the deed is finally done (and I have less hair too) I have the latest Knoppix.

Why do I have to type in 'Knoppix nousb' to finish the boot instead of simply 'enter'?

And more importantly,....
And another thing that is REALLY starting to cheese me off is that I am reading stuff that a cable modem (mine is a terayon tj615) with a USB jack cannot be used for knoppix.

Well, WHY NOT?!?! :x
Can't be done?
So I've frigged around for hours and hours only to find I can't connect without buying more shit to replace the shit I already have?!?! Like now I got to buy a router, not even sure what a router is/does.
I'm connected to Billy boys OS no prob, you'd think I would be automatically connected, that it would simply import the settings from XP.
But no!
The only way linux is going to really catch on, is only if it could be more like windows, sad but true.
Automation should be built right in, setting things up in Windows is easy, and it works (usually)
I want loin linux, but I can't get past the starting gate.

Can I not use my USB cable modem, not at all :|

Please explain this to me as simple as possible, as I am very confused here.

And, oh yeah, thanx!

Harry Kuhman
10-22-2005, 07:33 PM
Well, WHY NOT?!?!