PDA

View Full Version : Wi-Fi Troubles...



Killerah
10-26-2005, 12:57 AM
Hey guys, it's me again having more problems with Linux. I am using the 4.0.2 Official DVD release, and I have it installed using the recommended "Debian" method (or whatever you want to call it). Anyway, here's the problem, I run the wireless config the same way on the live CD and on my install, I just click next until it finishes. On the liveCD it works perfect, I can connect to my router, and everything is joyous, on my HD install however, I do the same procedure, but I can get nothing to work no matter what I try. Oh, and when I press "activate config" in the liveCD it freezes the whole computer and I have to restart, it also does this in the HD install, but only when I have it configured to do infrastructure mode only. I'm using the latest version of Netgear's WG311T card. Here are the pictures of my problem:
http://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y228/Killerah/snapshot1.png
http://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y228/Killerah/snapshot2.png
http://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y228/Killerah/snapshot3.png
http://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y228/Killerah/snapshot4.png
The first two are of when it's not working on the HD install, and the last 2 are when it's working fine on the Live CD.

Any help is appreciated.
Thanks
-Nate

Killerah
11-01-2005, 11:49 PM
Ok, since nobody seems to be responding, would you guys recommend that I just install Debian? And if so, do you have any tips for me?

thonuz
11-06-2005, 04:42 PM
you have no ip address on the bottom one.
Open terminal and do ifconfig (your eth? goes here) try usind down and up options. its something simple.

Also you want to click to detect your eth? in kwifi. Then check if you have encryption etc. Sometimes you need to reboot.