PDA

View Full Version : How do I connect to the internet - ADSL?

Styfir
10-26-2005, 01:29 PM
Hi I'm a newbie ! I have Knoppix 4 on a dvd and have successfully booted in,
but thats where I'm at a loss. I am quite confident using windows xp but haven't
a clue when it comes to linux.
I guess my first priority is to get the internet up and running - but need help

I am using broadband ADSL dial in - ppp adapter.

Ireally have to set up my modem don't I??

Can anyone help out the newbie!!??

NeroZero
10-27-2005, 01:37 PM
Good choice to leave Windows :)

Click on the menue bar and then go to KNOPPIX folder and there network and there you click configure ADSL access ...

no problem

Styfir
10-27-2005, 02:46 PM
Thanx NeroZero I'll give that a try. I have checked out the forum for an answer to this and got some info but I'm really groping around in the dark here...

Check back to see how I get on, won't you?

NeroZero
10-27-2005, 02:59 PM
Getting around linux in generall takes a few days (not more), since windows tool off way too much thinking.. But then you will realize how great it is !!! I once had a linux distribution on a network started and it logged itself in without my aid... I am sure getting connected with DSL is very easy.. else post here, I got your thread subcribed now :)

Styfir
10-27-2005, 03:03 PM
Ok I got as far as network/configure adsl/pppoe and then a selection of drivers shows up but I'm not sure which one is the right one for me or even if my one is there or not.

Help wot do I do?

Did I mention it's a USB modem?

NeroZero
10-27-2005, 03:17 PM