PDA

View Full Version : Boot Hangs at autoconfiguring devices

WelshBluebird
10-27-2005, 07:30 PM
I'm quite new to linux and I'm trying to run the Knoppixb 4.0.2 Live CD on an old computer thats useless when running windows. It has a pentium mmx 200Mhz processor, 4GB hard drive and 32MB ram. because of the small memory i'm planning to make a 512mb swap file on the hard drive if I can actually get knoppix working.
I first had trouble setting it up to boot from a CD, for some reason the bios settings wouldn't save. I managed to sort that out. But now booting from the cd, it boots normally but when it gets to autoconfiguring devices it just keeps on trying to autoconfiguring the devices. The green line keeps on going. (that's the best I can descibe it).
I did leave it for an hour, but when I checker it, the screen had just gone fuzzy and blured. I could just about make out the penguin at the top!
I've checked the md5 checksum which was correct and burned the CD using a 1x speed. I've tried a few CD's to make sure it wasn't the actual disc, but no luck.
It works fine on my newer computer (1gb ram, 160gb hard drive, 2.16Ghz, hopefully soon to be ex-windows) so am I right in assuming it's either the acutal computer or a hardware conflict?

Thanks in advance

UnderScore
10-27-2005, 07:44 PM
Knoppix boots with a splash screen. At that splash screen you can enter codes which will force Knoppix to do certan things. Theses codes are known as Cheat Codes (http://www.knoppix.net/wiki/Cheat_Codes). Try something like:
knoppix 2 vga=normal nosmp noscsi noagp noapic acpi=off noapm nopcmcia nousb nofirewire

rwcitek
10-28-2005, 06:08 AM
Hello WelshBluebird and welcome to Knoppix.net.