PDA

View Full Version : Starting with knoppix

marcoshac
11-02-2005, 04:34 AM
Hello,

I already used a couple of Linux distros, and I was now presented to Knoppix. i can say that I really like it, and this live DVD is really cool.

Now, I have some questions regarding the set-up an usage of Knoppix.

I am a web developer, so the combination Apache/PHP/MysqL is a must have to me. I am also using this distro in my laptop (no problems so far).

1) I want to save my files into the HD. How can I do that/ Do I need to partition the disk, and format it with ext2 or ext3? Can I format it and use it with FAT3 (I am on Windows XP also).? Knoppix does not write in NTFS, right?

2) Regarding the Apache/PHP/MySql, is it running already when the system starts, or do I need to change some config files in order to start them up when the system is starting?

3) How this config files are saved?

Thanks for your time and support.

ckyip
11-02-2005, 03:45 PM
start from knoppix 4.0.2:
If you don't want change your harddisk partition, you can use a USB memory stick.
create a persistent image in your USB memory stick (knoppix.img)
Your USB memory stick may be /mnt/sda1 or /mnt/sda2
must enable it writable before create persistent image (right click USB icon and uncheck read only device)
Then reboot, the persistent image will auto be detected. (must reboot for enable persistent image)
A menu display.
Don't need to change configuration, but choose OK to enable the detected persistent image.
All your change will written to the persistent image (knoppix.img)

Most service are not start by default.
But you can start it yourself.

apache, mysql, php ... most things already install on the DVD.

rwcitek
11-03-2005, 12:32 AM
Hello and welcome to Knoppix.net.