PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] How to uncompress KNOPPIX file from the hard disk?



merrik
11-17-2005, 09:21 PM
Hi,

We can uncompress the image CD (KNOPPIX.iso) in this way:

mkdir /mnt/knoppixcd
mount -o loop knoppix.iso /mnt/knoppixcd

mkdir /mnt/master
cp -a /mnt/knoppixcd/* /mnt/master

Then, we will have the master directory WITH the huge KNOPPIX/KNOPPIX file.

But, how can I uncompress KNOPPIX/KNOPPIX? Is there anyway to use /usr/bin/create_compressed_fs in the inverse way to uncompress the file directly from the hard disk?

Thank you!

Solution

If you are using Debian, you can install the cloop-utils package, wich has both create_compressed_fs and extract_compresed_fs and other files.

The full sequence to extract files from the iso is:

# mkdir /mnt/knoppix
# cd /mnt/dsl
# mkdir iso extracted_knx master sources
# mount -o loop DSL.iso /mnt/dsl/iso
# cp -Rp iso/* master
# umount iso && rm -r iso
# extract_compresed_fs master/KNOPPIX/KNOPPIX > master/KNOPPIX/extracted_knx
# mount -o loop master/KNOPPIX/extracted_knx extracted_knx
# cp -Rp extracted_knx/* sources
# umount extracted_knx && rm -r extracted_knx
# rm master/KNOPPIX/KNOPPIX master/KNOPPIX/extracted_knx

That's all!

firnsy
11-18-2005, 10:40 AM
An alternative to uncompressing the large KNOPPIX file and then loopback mounting is to mount the compressed KNOPPIX file itself.

Thus instead of:

# extract_compresed_fs master/KNOPPIX/KNOPPIX > master/KNOPPIX/extracted_knx
# mount -o loop master/KNOPPIX/extracted_knx extracted_knx

You can:

# sh master/KNOPPIX/KNOPPIX extracted_knx

This will mount the compressed master/KNOPPIX/KNOPPIX file to the mountpoint extracted_knx, you do need the cloop modules as above.

merrik
11-18-2005, 12:50 PM
No, I'm not using the cloop module, I'm using some utils, binary utils, included -at least in Debian- in the package cloop-utils.

I think in your way is needed the cloop module. I am using Debian Sid, with a precompiled kernel, and see what it says me:

mount -o loop KNOPPIX.iso iso
sh iso/KNOPPIX/KNOPPIX extracted_knx
FATAL: Module cloop not found.

Or I didn't understand you?

Regards.

firnsy
11-19-2005, 03:53 PM
No, I'm not using the cloop module ... I think in your way is needed the cloop module.

You are correct, wasn't sure if you cloop-utils supplied the kernel module. It would appear that it doesn't.