PDA

View Full Version : Knoppix And My Wifi Internet/Network Help ....

phrazerm
11-29-2005, 08:59 PM
hey guys ! I'm new here ....

Well I finally got Knoppix live

Aww man its well nice..

One problem .. i cant connect to the internet.

Is there something i need to configure? what you guy think i need to do ?

Im running a 2.4mb connection wirelessly so if that makes a difference?

network card type thing is :
http://tinyurl.com/7nt8p
http://tinyurl.com/7lbcp

On another forum( non linux) someone said this "You will need to actually have the Wireless adapter plugged in, and run: /sbin/lsusb"

This doesn't mean to much to me because im brand new to linux lol

So if someone could say post a step-by-step guide of what i need to do ?

If any other info is requird just ask ...Thanks alot !

Phrazah

Harry Kuhman
11-29-2005, 09:17 PM
Im running a 2.4mb connection wirelessly so if that makes a difference?
It makes a big difference, but at least you had the sense to tell us that you were trying to connect wirelesly and even what equipment you had. I'm amazed by how many people seeking support give no idea what their network equipment is. Unfortunately, wireless support is not great in Linux, many manufacturers refuse to release programming specs for their hardware or to even release Linux drivers. I don't know the status of the card that you are using. I would suggest:
Reading the Wireless networking section of the wiki, found by following the Documentation link near the top of this page.

Trying to identify the chipset used in the wireless NIC; you might find that the hardware is supported even though we don't recognize the NIC manufacturer name.

Hope that someone does recognize the maker and posts also.