PDA

View Full Version : Booting a laptop off a Knoppix CD without a harddrive.

ncsuapex
12-13-2005, 12:53 AM
Ok,

I have a project in mind that I think Knoppix would be great for. Hopefully this is in the right forum. But here is my plan and requirements. I have a basic understanding of Linux as I've been running various forms of *nix for a few years.

Requirements:
Boot a laptop off a knoppix CD
Laptop does not have a harddrive.
I want to have a wireless network card which will be connected to my home network
Once the laptop boots I want it to automatically run a script which is on my home network.
Laptop must be able to boot with a keyboard and mouse or without a keyboard and mouse.
Optional: If laptop boots without a keyboard and mouse I want to be able to plug them in and use them, if I have to reboot to use keyboard and mouse that's acceptable.
Optional: Use of USB.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Harry Kuhman
12-13-2005, 01:13 AM
I want to have a wireless network card which will be connected to my home network
Once the laptop boots I want it to automatically run a script which is on my home network.
Just a few thoughts: Do you have a wireless card or will you be buying one? Be aware that there are many wireless cards that Knoppix does now support (and a few that it does). Read the wireless networking section in the wiki and scan the Networking forum for a lot more discussion on this.

To have a script run from your home network in the way you describe, I expect that you'll have to remaster the disc to make this happen. There are several things that you would have to add to the original CD before you could run a script from the network, particularly when using a wireless interface.

ncsuapex
12-13-2005, 01:34 AM
^