PDA

View Full Version : Data Backup / DVD Burning with Knoppix

popjack
12-28-2005, 07:55 PM
Hi All,

Sorry if this is a bit convoluted, but I've learned that in forum posts, more information is better. I'm running two systems an older P4 sandbox running Vector Linux and a newer AMD64 running Windows XP. I'm pretty new to Linux, so I'm keeping the OS's on separate machines, so there's no fear of losing data on my family's primary computer if I have to reformat / repartition.

My first question is about running a Live CD on my WinXP machine. I ready the disclaimer, so I know that there is some risk involved, but I'd like to get the opinion of this forum. Has anyone ever experienced a problem with a live CD that compromised data on the host system?

My second question involves using the Live CD to backup data on using my DVD burner. I've never been able to get my DVD burner working properly, and I'm told that it's a problem with the VIA chipset, the Ultra Bus Master Driver and Windows XP. I've removed the driver and ended up reformatting my system. My question is can I boot from a live CD, take the CD out and attempt to burn data onto a DVD from my system's harddrive? Any thoughts would be appreciated.

Thanks.

Harry Kuhman
12-28-2005, 08:55 PM
Has anyone ever experienced a problem with a live CD that compromised data on the host system?