PDA

View Full Version : Internet connection Help

compgeek
12-29-2005, 12:56 AM
First of all, I am a total newbie to Linux and I need some help.

Okay, I'm running Knoppix 4.0 and unable to connect to the internet.(Running on a laptop) I have cable running through a router if that helps. I tryed running the network card config and it couldn't find my wired network card. The wifi card config didn't work either. Is there something I'm missing?

Any suggestions?

Harry Kuhman
12-29-2005, 01:15 AM
Any suggestions?
You've given a small amount of information in telling us that you have a router, but not enough for us to resolve the problem. So here are some questions:

What router, make and model?

What is the wired NIC, make and model, or if built into the motherboard, what is that?

Are you sure that you are not on the Internet (yes, we have had people ask this that were on the Internet all along)?

What error are you getting? Give us the exact error.

Have you tried manually setting the network settings with netcardconfig?

Have you tried to ping the router's IP address? Have you tried to ping an Internet site by IP address? Have you tried to ping an Internet site by URL? And what were the results?

Does your router have a feature that limits access by MAC address? (and if it does and it's enabled, try disabling it.)

What version of Knoppix are you really using? 4.0 was only officially released in German at T.A.G. Are you using 4.0.2, or something else?

compgeek
12-29-2005, 01:38 AM
What router, make and model?
Linksys Model # WRK54G (Wifi router with 4 port switch)

What is the wired NIC, make and model, or if built into the motherboard, what is that?
Marvell Yukon 88E8036

Are you sure that you are not on the Internet (yes, we have had people ask this that were on the Internet all along)?
Yes.

I cannot configure either of my network devices.

No and wouldn't know how on Linux.