PDA

View Full Version : Reboot changes Static IP

Zedd_Prophecy
01-05-2006, 01:56 AM
Hi everyone - I just found Knoppix and already am a big fan - I gotta say everything works nicely except for one odd behavior maybe someone might help me with.
I'm not a total noob but I'm no kernel recompiler either.

I have a Knoppix CD booting with a usb drive holding my settings (250 meg ext2 fs)

everything behaves exactly as expected except after a reboot - my static ip is set to 192.168.0.233 and when the system comes back up I dont reconnect ... upon typing ifconfig I see the ip address has changed - its still in the range where it should work but I'm assuming the gateway has changed too as dns no longer resolves.

I can run the network card config and it defaults to all the settings that were previously set ( So I know it remembers my settings - ) and when I accept the defaults (prefilled) I can get online and everything is fine.

I'd almost think it was wanting to go DHCP on me by default no matter what the static settings were ...... ?

I spose I could deal with it but if anyone has anyone has any thoughts I'd be interested.

Thanks,
Rob

Zedd_Prophecy
01-05-2006, 05:24 PM
I also tried the cheatcode nodhcp on boot - that did something different - it changed my ip to local loopack.

??

Mort
01-06-2006, 09:56 PM
Howdy from Tucson,

I have a similler problem. The Knoppix restore seems to save my wireless lan settings but doesn't load them at boot up.
I have to load my wireless card with the ndiswapper, then configue wlan0. All this amounts too is clicking on the
screen to pick the driver file in ndiswapper, then starting wavlan and accepting all the settings stored from
my previous configuration. Including the static IP address I set.

So, surely it should be possible to write a script to load these stettings?

Can someone point us in the right direction. I suspect a shell script like the old config.sys or autoexec.bat.