PDA

View Full Version : Laptop Problem...Can you help?

jacksonon
01-12-2006, 11:29 AM
Linux newbie here....

I burned Knoppix 3.8 onto a CD, and it runs great on a Gateway PC.
But when I try to run it on my old IBM Thinkpad I get:
<0>Kernel Panic - Not Syncing: Attempted to Kill Init!

I tried a bunch of cheats. And I couldn't get it to work. So I tried this one:
boot: knoppix acpi=off pnpbio=off noapic noapm
And got:
ERROR: CANNOT UNITE READ-ONLY MEDIA AND INITIAL RAMDISK!

Other Live CDs work well on this laptop, but I'd really like to get Knoppix on it.

Any suggestions?
Thanks...

riles
02-03-2006, 05:08 PM
I had the same problem when I tried to boot, I got the error message
ERROR: CANNOT UNITE READ-ONLY MEDIA AND INITIAL RAMDISK!

I'm currently re-downloading the disk immage and am going to try again tonight.

Harry Kuhman
02-03-2006, 05:58 PM
I'm currently re-downloading the disk immage and am going to try again tonight.
If the md5 sum is good then you have a good image, if it doesn't match them you have a bad image. There should never be a case where you don't know and have to try again. It sounds more likely to me that the disc was burned improperly at high speed. I suggest following all of the advice in the downloading faq.

riles
02-03-2006, 07:46 PM
Yah I didn't bother to check the MD5 the first time. Or follow the download instructions.
:oops:

Any suggestions if that still doesn't work? The origional poster (jacksonon) seemed to have a good copy, but it wouldn't run on his laptop either.

OErjan
02-04-2006, 02:20 PM
if burning a *.iso that has passed a md5 check at 1-4X (or atleast as slow as your burner/software can do it) wont help...
we take that when it comes, a unlikely senario, a dirty lens and faulty cable are two candidates.

bitey
02-04-2006, 08:42 PM