PDA

View Full Version : Persistent disk image questions

martynguk2002
01-13-2006, 09:08 PM
Hi,
Newbie here.
I am enjoying using knoppix CD and am very impressed it.

I have a few questions about the persistent disk image.
I havent tried to use it yet as I don't want my Hard drive to be alterd.

If I use my hard drive does it save the disk image as a file or does it add a new partition?
I understand I can also use a USB memory stick for a disk image, would the image be saved as a file and would I still be able to use it under windows?

Also what information is stored in the disk image? If I set up my email and save a disk image would that data be stored?
If I installed a new program could that information be stored too?

What I am thinking is the posibility to use a live CD with a USB memory stick and use knoppix as if it were installed on my hard drive.

Also one more unrelated question, what is the diffrence between the live CD and DVD? I assume the DVD has more software pre-installed? is it woth using the live DVD for a newbie?

Thanks for your time.

Rik
01-13-2006, 11:19 PM
I am new to Knoppix and had the same concern, but decided to save it on a non-primary HD. It is just a file. When (if) you launch in Windows, it will just be a file on your HD. I can see no ill effects.

Rik
01-13-2006, 11:25 PM
You might also want to read these recent messages:

http://www.knoppix.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=22804

I was not aware of this and it is only luck that of the three HDs I have in this PC 2 are NTFS and one is FAT and the FAT HD is the one I saved the persistent image on.

OErjan
01-14-2006, 01:33 PM
i have a external usb hdd (not a pen) it is 120G in size and i have a 1G persistent home on it.
be certain that you save the image to a FAT partition or a FAT formated pen...
or ofcource some Linux format.

Rik
01-14-2006, 03:00 PM