PDA

View Full Version : v4.0.2 boot error

skygeek
01-16-2006, 08:24 PM
I am very new to linux and downloaded knoppix becuase in all of my searches said it was the best to try becuase it does'nt require an install. It's not going so well this way.

I finaly got the CD to burn correctly and it gives me an error about "file system not found, dropping you to a shell"

ok. The FAQ page said that this could be a device driver problem. I don't know how to check that under linux. The FAQ also said something about DMA not being supported or being supported by default but not anymore...........little confusing........I tried again and the same thing happens over and over again.
One other thing was that when I remove the CD and go back into windows and try to browse the CD to see if the image took there is no files there. It says the CD is full but with no files. It's a different file sytem I get that, is there any way to check and make sure the image took correctly? Verify one thing at a time right, start with the simplest things first.

I appreciate your help and look forward to your response so I can start getting into linux like I should have done a long time ago! :)

thanks everyone!

Harry Kuhman
01-17-2006, 01:16 AM
.... It's a different file sytem I get that, is there any way to check and make sure the image took correctly? Verify one thing at a time right,....
No, it's a standard ISO 9660 file system; you should be able to see the entire file structure under windows or linux, even that limited shell you mentioned.

You mention the faq several times but didn't say which faq. All issues covering this problem should be in the Downloading Faq, including the testcd option that will verify the files on the disc for you. And it will tell you to burn slowy, which is my best guess so far as to what your problem is.

ruymbeke
01-17-2006, 01:59 AM