PDA

View Full Version : Harddrive, sda, problems.

Roberth
02-14-2006, 12:44 AM
I am trying to safe some files on my harddrive, with knoppix 4.0, because win xp won't boot up cuz a file is missing or corrupted. But I am a total newbe on knoppix and linux. I have searched around the forum and tested a lot, but nothing has worked.

I have two harddrives one each 74gb and one extern USB 200gb disk. On the desktop in knoppix I can se, CD-ROM, Floppy, KNOPPIX.desktop, sda, sdb, sdc1 and trash.desktop. I can start and se the files in sdc1, that is the USB harddrive. But when I'm going to open the other harddrives, sda and sdb, it says that "Could not mount device. The reported error was: mount: I could not determine the filesystem type, and none was specified". I need to get files from the harddrive and move them to the USB drive so I can format the harddrive.

Is there someone that have any suggestion on what I can do to get the harddrives mounted?

Thanks!

Harry Kuhman
02-14-2006, 01:25 AM
There are certainly things that can happen to a file system that damages the partition enough that it can't be opened, and unfortunately this sounds like what my have happened to you.

Do you have any insight on what happened to your system that caused this? Unfortunately with XP it does happen all to often with no clue as to why, but if you have any insight on something that caused this it might help us a lot in giving you advice.

Are the partitions NTFS or are they FAT? There are a lot of good tools for recovering data from FAT partitions, much fewer tools, at least freely available ones, for NTFS.

If you can't access the partitions with Knoppix you ight want to look into the Live Linux CD Helix, which is a data forensic disk and has more tools for poking into partitions than Knoppix. There are also some non-Linux bootable recovery tools that may help you.