PDA

View Full Version : New to knoppix internet connection with USB help please

logic
03-01-2006, 12:05 AM
Hey im new to linux so please take that into account.

I have a 1.1 mb broardband connection, im using a USB alcatel speedtouch modem that my ISp BT had provided, i use knoppix as a live cd.

I have been messing around with K to see if i can sort it out myself, after trying random things on K i look at some sites for help, which to be honest confused me even more..

Im only asking for help to get on the net, once ive done that everything else i will be able to deal with

Cheers :D

Harry Kuhman
03-01-2006, 12:16 AM
If you are using Knoppix the one place this certainly doesn't belong is in the "Other Live CDs" forum; I have moved it to Networking for you.

USB is awful for networking in general (in spite of the large amount of Windows garbage sold that combines networking and USB). and you may need special drivers to get a USB modem to work under Knoppix. That said, I do believe that I have seen poeple posting about getting speedtouch USB modems working under Knoppix, you might try looking at previous posts to find this information if you have your heart set on making it work. Personally I would (and did) insist that the ISP not provide a USB modem but rather provide one with Ethernet and use that and an inexpensive router to access the Internet the way God intended.

Also, I've seen mention in these forume of some modems that have both USB and an ethernet interface. If you have that I suggest putting gum or hot glue in the USB connection and pretending that it never existed.

giant_toaster
03-08-2006, 03:09 PM
Also, I've seen mention in these forume of some modems that have both USB and an ethernet interface. If you have that I suggest putting gum or hot glue in the USB connection and pretending that it never existed.

Lol!