PDA

View Full Version : Dell 610 & USB drive

Moody4U
03-02-2006, 12:51 PM
Hi,

I just have made Knoppix Live CD and tried it on my system.
Its works fine except this problem.

I can see all my Hard drive partitions, but I can not edit, make folder, copy any file here or there .
Also I tried connecting my USB Hdd , i can see all the files, but i can tranfer files in between,.

even can make new folder.

I'm very new to Linux etc .. kindly help me

regards

rangalo
03-02-2006, 01:48 PM
Hi,

I think you have to change the read/write permission for that partition.

right click -> action -> change r/w permisison or something ..

cheers
Hardik

Moody4U
03-02-2006, 04:47 PM
Hi,

Thanx for the option. Yes I found that action button.
When I enabled write operation, I received a message:

Warning: The partition /dev /sal7 is of type NTFS ! Writing to this file system can cause data loss. You can try using the "Captive-ntfs" driver (see knoppix - utilites) or only do write manually and except to have to re-install the file system afterwords. This dialogue won't do this risky thing for you and will quit now without changing anything

I tried to find this captive ntfs but cdn't.

Hey friend, please do help me

Also in the drive properties, I checked all read write and execute for all. and un check the read-only.

Harry Kuhman
03-02-2006, 07:21 PM
Captive NTFS isn't there any more. It never worked right. Microsoft is going to great lengths to keep you from writing to NTFS with Linux and at this point and likely in the future NTFS is read only.

Moody4U
03-03-2006, 09:06 PM
What Should I do now ??

I actually need to transfer data from my USB hdd, which I can only see in Linux Live CD.
It somhow disappeared in my portable devices menu in windows XP. I tried hard, checking the
drivers, Western digital help, but no use. Someone told me to copy all files somehow and then
format and re-setup the USB.

So far i can see the drive, but now I can't copy.