PDA

View Full Version : Persistent Cheat Codes

dbar
03-06-2006, 09:38 PM
Hi Folks,

Can anyone tell me if there is a method to automatically enter Cheat Codes so I don't have to key 'knoppix home=...... config=...... fromhd=........' every time I boot Knoppix (4.0.2 CD)?

I'm a newbie running Knoppix with the Poor Man's Installation on older PII and PIII computers.

Any help with this would be greatly appreciated.

........ dbar

ruymbeke
03-06-2006, 11:21 PM
...I'm a newbie running Knoppix with the Poor Man's Installation on older PII and PIII computers. ...
If you are using the PMI, this means that you are already booting Knoppix from the hdd
and that you are already using a different bootloader than the one on the CD.
If you are using grub, I will suggest you to modify the grub config menu.lst file.
If you are using lilo, I will suggest you to modify the lilo.conf file and then run lilo to commit the changes.
Best Regards,
Gilles

dbar
03-07-2006, 02:43 PM
Gilles, many thanks for your reply.

Unless I'm missing something entirely here (which would not be unusual in my case), I'm not using either GRUB or lilo to boot Knoppix. I boot Knoppix from the CD, and at the boot prompt type in "knoppix home=/dev/hda5 config=/dev/hda5 fromhd=/dev/hda1". The Knoppix CD image co-exists in a file on hda1 (fat32) with some installed version of Windows, usually 98. Persistant Home resides on hda5 (fat32) as a file.

After more than 40 years at a typewriter / keyboard, I am sorry to say, I have only been able to get (almost) 2 1/2 fingers involved in the typing process ... and here lies my problem. Knoppix is wonderful. I love everything about it. The way I have it set up now suites my purpose to a tee ... except having to type in those cheat codes every time I boot it. So, without using using grub or lilo, is there a way to modify the Knoppix CD boot process to include the cheat codes so I can avoid typing them in every time?

Regards,
dbar

ICPUG
03-10-2006, 07:27 PM
dbar,