PDA

View Full Version : Knoppix 3.9 - KDE stops loading after apt-get upgrade

GATORbyte80
03-08-2006, 12:55 AM
After running apt-get upgrade on Knoppix 3.9, KDE no longer loads up. I can log in using the graphical interface, but loading halts during System Services loading. Has anyone resolved this problem or experienced it? This is for a HD install situation, of course. Help.

Harry Kuhman
03-08-2006, 01:15 AM
After running apt-get upgrade on Knoppix 3.9, KDE no longer loads up. .... This is for a HD install situation, of course. Help.
Of course. Lots of things break after apt-get since Knoppix isn't really suitable for hard disk install. Here's your help (http://www.debian.org/), as well as answer #2 (http://www.knoppix.net/wiki/User:Harry_Kuhman).

GATORbyte80
03-08-2006, 04:14 PM
Thanks, however I am not a completely new user. I have been using Linux for several years, and I've been successfully HD installing Knoppix for two of those years. Your response seems more like a cop-out than any kind of helpful solution. But thanks anyway. I have also installed Debian from the seven-cd set, and have unsuccessfully gotten any kind of window manager to operate correctly - this is why I've opted for Knoppix, and also because of excellent hardware detection and kernel modules like pcmcia. Anyway you're probably also going to tell me that there are other OS's that have live cds that are made specifically for hard drive installs as well, such as Ubuntu, PCLinuxOS, etc. These have major problems updating also, I've tried - Ubuntu is the very worst, and they just don't have all of the features I'm looking for. If you can get me up on plain Debian, then maybe that would be the key for me, but I always have difficulty installing it, no matter what I do. My latest experience was with poorly burned ISOs I think. So if I can figure out at which rate I need to correctly burn the ISOs, then maybe I'll get Plain Debian working.