PDA

View Full Version : Kanotix root partition creation

dvryknopper
03-13-2006, 08:08 PM
I am currently attempting to install kanotix onto my hard drive I have created a windows partition and a partition I intend to use to install kanotix onto and a linux swap partition. When I use the kanotix installer, it informs me that it cannot continue with the installation because I do not have a root partition. As a relative noob, I am unclear about how I would make a root partition, any information on how to do this with cfdisk or any other utility would be greatly appreciated.

nad
03-14-2006, 12:52 AM
I've never installed Kanotix, but, if it follows a standard debian install, at the partitioning menu you have to choose the partition you wish to use and another screen will appear with your usage options. When you press enter with a highlighted line that configuration option will toggle. Use the up and down arrows to choose the line.

You should be given the option of using or not using any partition, a choice of mount points (in your case / ) and whether to format and type of filesystem.

dvryknopper
03-14-2006, 08:05 PM