PDA

View Full Version : no Internet conexion with ADSL & router

shirow
03-31-2006, 07:24 PM
I have a problem connecting to the internet in Knoppix 4.0.2 (CD vers.) HD installed. I have configured the eth card correctly, cos the ping to 192.168.1.1
(router) is succesful. But when I try to open a web browser (firefox or konqueror) I get no response. Can enter to the router web configurator easily, but outbounds there, nothing.

My config is:

dhcp off
local ip: 192.168.1.2
netmask: 255.255.255.0
gateway ip: 192.168.1.1

The same config in windows XP works good.

I have also config the adsl/pppoe with the assistant, and gave it my dsl-provider data, user & login, but I am new to Linux & don't know what could be the problem. Thanks for any contribution (Sorry if my english is not good).

Harry Kuhman
03-31-2006, 11:07 PM
I have a problem connecting to the internet in Knoppix 4.0.2 (CD vers.) HD installed. I have configured the eth card correctly, ..... But when I try to open a web browser (firefox or konqueror) I get no response. Can enter to the router web configurator easily, but outbounds there, nothing.
Sounds like a potential DNS issue. Try to ping 216.32.81.146 and if that works then try to ping knoppix.net - which is the same address but involves a DNS lookup.

I have also config the adsl/pppoe with the assistant, and gave it my dsl-provider data, user & login, but I am new to Linux & don't know what could be the problem. Thanks for any contribution (Sorry if my english is not good).
If you are using a router then you do not run PPPoE software, the router takes care of that for you. Is there any good reason why you are not letting the router completely configure the Knoppix system by DHCP? People who do just boot the Knoppix CD and are on the Internet as soon as it boots with no configuration needed at all.

shirow
04-01-2006, 09:27 PM