PDA

View Full Version : d-link card not recognized

hunterpritchett
04-20-2006, 08:34 AM
I am new to linux, and while I would like to think that I now coputers well, I obviously do not compared to everyone on this site.
When I try to use my d-link dwl-650 pcmcia wifi card in knoppix the computer doesn't recognize it (wifi manager program shows a little wireless card with a ? mark).
This seemed like it might be the problem, but I don't know, and even if I did I wouldn't know how to fix it.
When knoppix is loading I see some text that says:
pcmcia device detected starting cardmanager (this isn't exactly right)
[cardmanager]: starting version 3.2.5
[cardmanager]: unsupported card in socket 0
[cardmanager]: product info: "D-link", "DWL-650 wireless PC card RevP", "ISL37101P-10", "A3"
[cardmanager]: manfid: 0x000b, 0x7110 funtion: 6 (network)

Also in an unrelated (hopefully) issue, it then goes on to say that it found a firewire port, but I am pretty damn sure I don't have one, even though I wish I did. but then after that it says twice: "FATAL: could not read /lib/modules/2.6.11/kernal/drivers/input/evdev.ko: not directory"

Knoppix does eventually access a network device, but I'm assuming that it is accesing my ethernet port.
It says "network device eth0 detected DHCP broadcasting for IP." Disappointingly I don't have access to a hardwire ethernet connection.