PDA

View Full Version : Knoppix 3.9 hdinstall - Confused!

jayzon915
04-20-2006, 05:29 PM
Hey Knoppix World!
:o
I am completely new to the whole knoppix deal. I downloaded Knoppix 3.9
several months ago and absolutely love it. I use it off and on to just mess
around. Here recently however i decided I would like to install it to my
Hard Drive. Being a newbie I looked everywhere on the internet and found
many different ways to do this. Is there any way someone could walk me through
this? I've heard that 3.9 has some problems and itd be better to update but i would
rather not because it takes FOREVER to download another version.

Any gelp would be appreciated. Thanx

-jayson

jayzon915
04-20-2006, 05:33 PM
Oh yeah. I have a Compaq Presario with Athlon XP 2400+ running windows XP. I'd like to dual boot knoppix off another hard drive. I have a 12GB hard drive and a 40GB Hard Drive both black formatted Fat32.

dvryknopper
04-20-2006, 06:25 PM
It is not recomended that you go through with the hd install of knoppix, try downloading kanotix, it is a distro largely based from knoppix with more debian packages to make it more suitable for life on the hd. First thing I would need to know though, are both drives "normal" internal hard drives or are one of them a usb drive, and which drive would you like to install onto and which hard drive has your windows partition and how many gigs of space is used?

Harry Kuhman
04-20-2006, 06:36 PM
I generally don't keep posting the warning not to install Knoppix every time someone states that they intend to do it in spite of the warnings (http://www.knoppix.net/wiki/HD_Install_Warning_not_to_do_it). But while Kanotix does avoid some of the known problems with installing Knoppix, I don't see any compelling reason for installing it and it's selection of Debian applications, when you could just install Debian and install exactly the applications you want with the Debian package system.

dvryknopper
04-20-2006, 08:12 PM