PDA

View Full Version : knoppix.sh autoscan or something better!

SBHollingsworth
04-24-2006, 11:41 PM
I'm relatively new to Knoppix. Long-time linux user, though--primarily Mandrake/Mandriva and recently ubuntu.

I've searched the forums and see that an obvious function must be missing! People have requested, for example, a way to remember boot options/cheatcodes. The advice is change the boot configuration (if starting from a floppy/pen drive, etc.) or remaster. It's not necessarily convenient to do the former because it may necessitate using a floppy+a CD instead of a CD alone. And it's like using a howitzer to kill a fly to remaster for that purpose alone.

What seems to be missing is, just as Knoppix automagically scans and uses swap space, it should have a set path of places to look by default for configuration overrides, cheatcodes, and a post-configuration shell script, perhaps named knoppix.sh or perhaps something more esoteric.

If there is reluctance to have the possibility of data on a questionable disk influence knoppix during boot, then there can be additional cheatcodes to suppress the search behavior, just as there is a noswap option to preserve the potential for forensic analysis of swap partitions.

malaire
04-25-2006, 04:14 PM
You should check the "myconf=scan" boot-option. It will scan for knoppix.sh file, and if found will execute it during booting.
This is just the "post-configuration shell script" you are asking for.

You can use this with "KMenu->KNOPPIX->Configure->Save KNOPPIX configuration" to save & reload configuration files.

You can't use this to save boot-options, as that's non-trivial to implement, if it's at all possible.
If you want to use custom boot-options with only the CD, easiest way might be to reburn the CD with edited boot/isolinux/isolinux.cfg file. This way you don't need to do full remaster.

SBHollingsworth
04-25-2006, 05:52 PM