PDA

View Full Version : Failure while booting Knoppix 5.0

rjarvis
04-27-2006, 10:45 PM
Hello, I am hoping my problem has a simple solution

I am trying to boot up Knoppix 5.0 from a DVD-ROM to rescue a Vaio Z1RSP laptop which seems to have become terminally unable to boot XP (an UNMOUNTABLE_BOOT_VOLUME problem). This is my first attempt to run linux on a pc.

I have tried a number of different cheat codes and get one of two problems, depending on the code used: after the "Accessing KNOPPIX DVD at /dev/hdc..." line, I either get the message:
Can't find KNOPPIX filesystem, sorry
- and get dropped a basic shell,
or the two lines:
"nsmod: error inserting '/cdrom/boot/moules/cloop.k0': -1 Bad file number
insmod: can't read '/modules/cloop.ko': No such file or directory
- at which point the installation hangs

When I use failsafe, or use dma, I can see that the cd/dvd-rom drive is recognised, and of course have managed to read enough off the dvd to get this far, and so am not sure what can be wrong - worryingly, the only reference I can find to the second of these error messages is in the bug report section of this website.

Does anyone please have any advice? Any help would be very gratefully received,

Thanks,

Richard

ckamin
04-28-2006, 08:36 PM
rjarvis: