PDA

View Full Version : DOS WIN32 customized Knoppix?

Darkehorse
12-31-2002, 09:12 PM
Hi,

Let me first say I am very new to Linux. If not for Knoppix, I would never have stumbled into the wonderful world of Linux (I am an old time Unix user though). I love Knoppix, and I would like to use it for recovery of Windows / DOS systems. However, it is missing some key elements that I'd like to have. These are:

DOSEmu
Samba Server to connect to an NT Domain.
An I386 emulator package such as BOCHS or VMWare.

With that being said, it has a lot of things I DON'T need for this purpose. In reality, I could get by without a lot of the bells & whistles (stuff like open office, gimp, games, movie players). All I really need is the internet capability, KDE Desktop, file management, mounting of the windows volumes, A file editor, CD ROM burning software and the options mentioned above.
I have looked at the FAQ for customizing your own Knoppix distro, and I have to admit it is WAY beyond my current ability. Other than just continiuing to play with Linux until I can do the customization, can anyone else recommend some alternatives for me?

Thanks,
Darke

roberto
01-03-2003, 06:13 AM
I am another person who REALLY needs dosemu and VMware. i am thinking about writing an instruction for beginners on how to re-master the knoppix CD from the knoppix CD.

please read the faq in the general support section called:

[poll] putting stuff on your M$ c: drive and some pitfalls...

to see if you like the writing style and let me know if you would like an faq about re-mastering.

thx!

Oh and please vote on it too! :D

Tigren
01-03-2003, 09:16 AM
i guess this is kinda sacreligious, but Cool Linux is another live cd that has VMWare included...

russ hancox
01-04-2003, 12:07 AM
This too is sacreligious but Cool Linux is better than knoppix for two reasons :