PDA

View Full Version : Help-New to Knoppix-Problem with Network card config

prashantr
05-16-2006, 07:18 AM
Hi all,
Im new to Knoppix and im using it just for testing purposes. My problem looks vry simple to me but its really sad tat ui cundt find a solution for sometme now. I wonder if its expcte behavior in Knoppix that the interfaces will go down (i mean wat we see in ifconfig) when we do a reboot of the Knoppix PC? I tried configuring eth0 and eth1 through the /etc/network/interfaces file but that didnt work either. After configuring i did a /etc/init.d/networking restart, but that did not help me. Between, I would not say Im doing it right, nd thats wat I want to know from the experts here.

My question is :
Like in Linux, would the interface be up once the knoppix box comes up after reboot. If not, wat we need to do to acheive this stuff.

Please let me know if you may need more info. Thanks in advance :)

Harry Kuhman
05-16-2006, 07:45 AM
See answers #3 and #4 (http://www.knoppix.net/wiki/User:Harry_Kuhman).

prashantr
05-16-2006, 09:23 AM
Hi thanks for the imediate response. I need more info. I have completd installation and knoppix is up and unning in my box. But my problem is with the interface. the interface goes down after a system reboot.

Harry Kuhman
05-16-2006, 11:10 AM
I need more info. I have completd installation ....
You posted this in the networking forum and never mentioned that you installed Knoppix. If you are running it as intended from a CD then my above advice is what I have to offer. If you have "installed" Knoppix, then my advice is that you are very lucky to have networking work at all, many people who "install" it find that networking is broken after an "install". I do not offer support for those who choose to "install" Knoppix. I am not qualified to do so. My advice is to install Debian, and you will likely find that Networking works as you would expect it to.

prashantr
05-16-2006, 11:58 AM