PDA

View Full Version : Help needed on using dd

orbitbsl
05-24-2006, 09:52 AM
I am new to Linux and am currently trying to copy / clone a hard drive with an XP OS to another.

The source drive shows up as hda1
The destination drive is an IDE on a USB adapter and shows up as sda. It has some old data on it which I assume will be overwritten.

Both drives are 20.4Gb

I believe I need to use "dd if=/dev/hda of=/dev/sda" to clone the drive.

I have gone to run and typed BASH.
I then typed su
I then typed the command shown above. The hard drive light pulses 1 or 2 times a seconds. After about 12 hours the command had not finished. I cancelled the operation and checked the destination drive in Linux. Nothing had changed on it.

Any ideas as to what I am doing wrong?

ckamin
05-24-2006, 10:41 PM
Just a rough guess, but if you are trying to clone an NTFS partition/drive, Linux might not be the answer. I have not used dd to clone an NTFS drive, so I do not know if it would work or not. It is just my opinion that if Linux is not flawless with NTFS, it could be the issue.

orbitbsl
05-25-2006, 12:01 AM
At the moment I am testing using dd to clone between two good drives as I need to clone a drive with a hardware fault. It can not be accessed in Windows as Windows times out. Therefore I can't use Ghost. However the drive can be accessed and read with Linux.

So assuming I can get two working drives to clone using dd I will then try the faulty drive.

Kowood
05-25-2006, 12:37 AM
The filesystem type won't matter, just make sure each fs is the EXACT SAME SIZE, down to the byte. Otherwise it won't work.

orbitbsl
05-25-2006, 07:28 AM
Hi Kowood

<<make sure each fs is the EXACT SAME SIZE>>
Does this mean I need to create a partition of the same size and type on the destination drive? I assumed that as dd did a byte by byte copy it would create everything during the process.

ruymbeke
05-25-2006, 05:50 PM
Hi Kowood
<<make sure each fs is the EXACT SAME SIZE>>