PDA

View Full Version : Unable to boot: cloop.ko error

kalamazoo
05-27-2006, 09:05 PM
Hello,

I'm completely new to this linux thing and thought I would give it a go.

I downloaded Knoppix V4.0.2CD20005-01-23-EN.iso using bit torrent.

I did an MD5 check sum using MD5summer

I burnt this onto a branded CD-R at a slow speed using Nero 7. I got it to verify the data, which it passed with no problems.

However when I boot from the CD i get these messages

Accessing Knoppix CD at dev/hdd

insmod: error inserting 'modules/cloop.ko' -1 Bad file number

I've searched the forum for help and found someone who'd installed new bios and that seemed to help him. He mentioned something about setting his hard drives to legacy in the bios. I'm not quite sure what he meant. The thread is here (http://www.knoppix.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=22326&highlight=)

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

ps I have 2 hard drive, one of which is partioned, with a windows install using NTFS on one half and FAT32 on the other half and the second drive is NTFS. Could this be part of the problem ?

Thanks

Edwin

Harry Kuhman
05-27-2006, 09:28 PM
Sounds like you made the disc properly. I have no experience with Nero 7 but absolutely no reason to think that there could be any problem there.

Your hard disk configuration is not a problem. Knoppix does not even need there to be a hard disk to boot; you could unplug your hard disks and I expect you would still have the same problem.

Have you tried the knoppix dma cheat code mentioned in the other thread that you referenced? The version of Knoppix that you have has DMA off by default, but some systems need it on to access the CD properly.