PDA

View Full Version : New to Knoppix and I want to Install

Mankal
06-03-2006, 08:43 AM
I'm pretty new to knoppix, I have Knoppix 4.0, and I'm wanting to install it on my IBM Thinkpad 600E. It doesn't have any problems with drivers or anything like that but what I'm having trouble with is the installation. I have Windows 2000 installed but from what I'm reading I need to use Terminal commands to format. I don't know any Terminal commands and what I've found hasn't helped much so can anyone point me to any good tutorials explaining the Terminal and commands and how to format a hard drive and install.

Thanks

Harry Kuhman
06-03-2006, 09:34 AM
Don't do it, it's an awful mistake. That version of Knoppix was not intended to be installed to hard disk. There will be issues to resolve.

If you absolutely insist on installing Knoppix over a hard disk based distro like Debian (the distro that KNoppix is built on), then at least use the new 5.0.1 release of Knoppix. Klaus (the primary author) say that this version is finally ready for hard disk install. The jury may still be out (we've had the release for less than 24 hours), we just don't know yet if there will be problems, and I'm not sure there is any reason to install a Live CD rather than a hard disk based distro, but if you think that you have to go this route at least don't do it with one that the author says was a version before he stated that Knoppix was suitable for hard disk install.

knoppixknut
06-06-2006, 07:06 PM
I have installed knoppix using several methods,and every time is a winner. There was a little rooting around to fix slight issues but I would hardly call myself a linux guru. :?

I used persistant home, PMI, dual boot and HD install onto an old laptop (64MB ram 4g hd). If you prepared to get down and dirty with the OS why would'nt installing be a good idea?