PDA

View Full Version : Not able to read files from hda1...

merck4819
06-04-2006, 05:43 PM
I am brand new to the world of Linux, and I am hoping that someone can help me resolve a problem I am having while running knoppix (v4.0) from a live_cd. When I try to boot from the CD without using any "cheats" the process hangs when it gets to 'Scanning for Harddisk partitions and creating /etc/fstab...'. I am able to work around this problem by using 'nofstab', but once everything is up and running, I am not able to find any /hd* folders on the desktop. I've tried to mount the drive manually but have not had any luck so far. The computer I am using is an old Toshiba laptop with windows XP (one hard drive single partition), so I know I can not write to the hard drive, but I would like to be able to read from it. Any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks!

rwcitek
06-05-2006, 11:52 PM
Welcome to Knoppix, merck4819,

When I try to boot from the CD without using any "cheats" the process hangs when it gets to 'Scanning for Harddisk partitions and creating /etc/fstab...'.

Some questions:
- What version of Knoppix are you using? (4.0.2?)
- Have you looked at the Tips&Tricks (http://www.knoppix.net/wiki/Cheat_Codes#Tips.26Tricks) section of the Cheatcodes page? My guess is that you might want to try the failsafe cheatcode.
- If yes, what boot options did you try and how far did you get in the boot process?
- Are you getting any error messages and, if yes, what exactly do they say?

Please post back and let us know how things go.

Regards,
- Robert
http://www.cwelug.org

merck4819
06-06-2006, 12:50 AM
Thank you for your reply. To answer your questions:

-Yes, I am using v4.0.2
-I tried all of the cheatcodes in the Tips&Tricks sections with the following results:
boot: knoppix vga=0 - hung on following statement:
Scanning for Harddisk partitions and creating /etc/fstab...
boot: knoppix acpi=off pnpbios=off noapic noapm
same results as above