PDA

View Full Version : Delay in boot up with "Looking for DVD in: /dev/hda&quo

jim1944
06-12-2006, 04:33 AM
I've got Knoppix 5.0.1 on CD and DVD. I've tried it on three different machines and on two of them there is an approximate 2 minute delay at a message that says "Looking for DVD in: /dev/hda" (or it says "Looking for CD...")

The two machines that experience this delay have OS/2 and OS/2's Boot Manager on them. The one that does not experience the delay (I don't even recall seeing the message) only has Windows XP on it.

Could the presence of OS/2's Boot Manager be causing the delay? Is this a known issue?

Thanks
Jim

ralbrux
06-13-2006, 03:14 PM
Unfortunately this is not an answer but a similar problem perhaps. I am new to Linux/Debian/Knoppix. I have recently installed Sarge on a machine I assembled (ASUS PC5CR-L mobo + Intel Prescott P4) to run as a file/print server for our small LAN. Webbing about and reading up to initiate myself I came across Knoppix and immediately got latest (5.0) version, among other things, to test my machine before installing Sarge and to have a useful tool (also I hope to use for itself).

Before installing Sarge, I ran Knoppix 5.0. It loaded up quickly right off the bat and found all my harware - real gem. But now, after installing Sarge, I can't get 5.0 to load. Immediately after scanning for USB, it hangs when "looking for CD on /dev/hda. hda is the CD-ROM drive (HDs are SATA on sdx) and is there and working - found first by Knoppix before installing Sarge when 5.0 loaded and then by Sarge since I installed Sarge and a few subsequent packages from CD.

In the course of my learning process I gathered a total of 3 versions of Knoppix - 3.4, 3.9 and 5.0. Of the three, the only one I can load on my Sarge machine is version 3.4 which runs under Linux kernel 2.4.26. I can run all versions on any Windows machine, but not 3.9 or 5.0 on my Sarge machine.