PDA

View Full Version : download DVD iso file question

Merv02
06-12-2006, 09:24 AM
Hi

After downloading the CD iso file, burning to CD, trying out Knoppix and liking it very much, I'm trying to download and run the DVD iso file from various sites. It downloads as a 47.5MB file, but I'm trying to download the 4GB file. Sorry for the dumb question, but I'm new to the Linux world. :oops:

How can I download the full 4GB DVD iso file? Thanks.

btjiii
06-12-2006, 05:44 PM
I have been trying to download the iso from various sites and it fails everytime. I think something is wrong with the iso. Never had a problem before.

Harry Kuhman
06-12-2006, 07:04 PM
It downloads as a 47.5MB file.
The iso is too large to fit on a FAT partition.

I have been trying to download the iso from various sites and it fails everytime. I think something is wrong with the iso.
See the above. And it may also be your choice of downloading tools, some tools also have the 4 gig limit problem. Use a current copy of BitTorrent as recommended.

UnderScore
06-12-2006, 07:04 PM
You are not the only ones who have this problem http://www.knoppix.net/forum/viewtopic.php?p=104110#104110
Your best bet is to use bittorrent. If you can't use that then try to download it with via FTP with a good ftp client. On Windows I use FileZilla.

btjiii
06-12-2006, 09:28 PM
I'm trying it again right now. So far so good. I never had a problem downloading the file before, with previous versions. The last time I tried to download this one it got to 99% (4G) before it failed. I used the ftp client in Konquerorthe last time. And I am doing the same this time.

btjiii
06-12-2006, 09:51 PM
Well it failed again at 99%. I will try using Gozilla and see how that works.

ckamin
06-13-2006, 12:39 AM
Well it failed again at 99%. I will try using Gozilla and see how that works

Are you trying to save the file to a FAT partition? If so, there are file size limitations for that file system.