PDA

View Full Version : don't understand all IP stuff

csodabogar
06-27-2006, 07:24 AM
Hi! I am a newbie in Linux world. I burned the dvd and managed to boot, but there are some basical things that I cannot understand.
1. after booting, Knoppix asks me something about VGA. It offers around 9 modes (I do not remember well because at this moment I use Win XP to write to forum). Things like 80*25, 80*40 etc. What are these and how can I use them. I just chose a mode but I don't know anything about it.
2. Network configuration. This is the hard stuff. I know what subnet mask is. I suppose that the first IP asked was the IP address of my PC. But further I don't get it. It asks something about Broadcast, and something bout nameserver. Can you pls tell me what are the conversions from Windows IP related terms to Knoppix? Without my network card configured, I cannot access the internet, and this is a ajor obstacle in using the OS.
3. Another big problem is that for major changes it asks for some root password or what. How can I know that?
Thank you!

Harry Kuhman
06-27-2006, 07:50 AM
1. after booting, Knoppix asks me something about VGA. It offers around 9 modes (I do not remember well because at this moment I use Win XP to write to forum). Things like 80*25, 80*40 etc. What are these...
these refer to ascii character display dimensions, 80 characters across a line and 25 lines of characters vertically fitting on the screen for the first case and so on. But I don't know what you did to get this question, as most of us start Knoppix in a Graphical User Interface that deals with the screen size in pixels (I usually run in 1024x768 mode). And although there are "cheat codes" to force a particular resolution, most of us with reasonably new hardware don't need to use them, Knoppix starts in a mode that is at least acceptable, if not optimal. If this doesn't answer your question it would help to know how you are booting and why you are booting that way to get this question.