PDA

View Full Version : QTParted for Install- Total Noobie

binarybum
05-13-2003, 10:36 PM
Hi,

I am a complete noobie but want to learn more about Linux. I'd like to HD install Knoppix but not mess with my Win XP installation. Plan on booting from floppy for now. When I learn a bit more maybe I can use the NT loader to point to LILO and have dual boot w/o needing the floppy.

I have read the info for "poor man's install". I have plenty of free space in my 4th NTFS partition for Linux. I have the 5/3 release wich has QTParted. Can I use QTParted to resize this partition and create an ext3 partition so I can install Knoppix? How do I do this?

Thanks......................bb

rickenbacherus
05-13-2003, 11:42 PM
Hi,

I am a complete noobie but want to learn more about Linux. I'd like to HD install Knoppix but not mess with my Win XP installation. Plan on booting from floppy for now. When I learn a bit more maybe I can use the NT loader to point to LILO and have dual boot w/o needing the floppy.

Sure you could do that or you could just use LILO to boot NT as well.

I have read the info for "poor man's install". I have plenty of free space in my 4th NTFS partition for Linux. I have the 5/3 release wich has QTParted. Can I use QTParted to resize this partition and create an ext3 partition so I can install Knoppix? How do I do this?

Thanks......................bb

Yep- you can resize NTFS BUT- I would go read the docs at the Qtparted homepage (http://freshmeat.net/redir/qtparted/36614/url_homepage/qtparted.sourceforge.net) first.

It is not complicated to resize NTFS- the problem is doing it without losing data. ;)