PDA

View Full Version : No connection to ADSL

gamanel
07-03-2006, 06:07 PM
I am new at Linux and downloded the knoppix 5 hopping to start my learning
Started OK but I cannot connect to the net
I also have a modem - router Arescom 1000 and I am the only one connected to the web.
Tryed everything with no results

So I went to the forums.

After I read what you are going thru I thing I better stay out of Linux

Thanks for helping me

Harry Kuhman
07-03-2006, 06:25 PM
Your post has been split into it's own thread, since you have different equipment than others and it is very likely a different problem.

After I read what you are going thru I thing I better stay out of Linux
That's your choice, but we have helped a lot of people here if they don't just give up before they make their post.

You say that you have a modem with a built in router. Good. The following querstions will help us help you.

What is your network interface card? You are connecting by ethernet and not usb, right? If you are connecting by usb, does the modem have an option to connect by ethernet? What do you get if you type ifconfig into a console window after Knoppix boots?

Has the moder/router been set up with your DSL user name and password? (In the thread where you tried to post this, this apparently was not being done.)

At a command prompt (console window) type sudo netcardconfig. Say yes to the question about DHCP. What happens?

What is the IP address of your router? Can you ping it at a command prompt? Can you open the router configuration screen by putting that address into a browser in Knoppix?

There are plenty more questions, but the answers to these will get us started in the right direction.

gamanel
07-03-2006, 08:27 PM
That's your choice, but we have helped a lot of people here if they don't just give up before they make their post.

I must bow and thank you for your kindness.

First let me list my equipment

Computer :
Operating system Microsoft Windows XP Professional